top of page

A s t r a l   W o n d e r


In early 2019, six composers of the Cincinnati-based Queen City Composers Collective created a program of commissions centered on a common love of astronomical phenomena, and “Astral Wonder” was born. All seven pieces for solo piano reflect the wonder of the night sky and humanity’s yearning to journey to the distant worlds above.

Performance dates

World premieres recital

October 28, 2023, 5pm

University of Cincinnati,

College-Conservatory of Music

Audio selections

Bizub: Points of LightMichael Delfin
00:00 / 10:46

     Pianist and historical keyboardist Michael Delfín captures the listener with flair and fiercely colorful playing. He has given numerous world premieres including solo and chamber works by Lisa Bielawa, Paul Chihara, Douglas Knehans, Osnat Netzer, and Evan Williams. Mr. Delfín has performed for New Music Chicago, Ear Taxi New Music Festival, and the Zemlinsky Prize and collaborated with violinist Madeleine Mitchell and violist Michael Hall. Upcoming projects include a recital program of piano commissions entitled Astral Wonder and a harpsichord concerto by Armando Bayolo. He was awarded the top prize ex aqueo in the Ninth Jurow International Harpsichord Competition, shortly after being nominated to The Diapason 20 Under 30 Class of 2021. Mr. Delfín is a doctoral candidate at the University of Cincinnati and holds degrees from the San Francisco Conservatory, Peabody Conservatory, and the Johns Hopkins University.

Recent Reviews of Michael Delfin

"A beautiful performance of great warmth"

~Classical Voice of North Carolina

"Impeccable interpretation! Bravissimo, Maestro!"

~ Naji Hakim

Harkins: AsteroidMichael Delfin
00:00 / 05:22
Nabors: PolarisMichael Delfin
00:00 / 09:09
Delfín: New HorizonsMichael Delfin
00:00 / 08:20

Event materials

Tech Rider

Program notes

500-word bio

250-word bio

100-word bio

For booking inquiries, please contact


bottom of page